Some believe that traditional customs should be maintained, while others feel that societies need to move forward and adapt to modern ideas. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whilst some people think that traditions are important in society, I believe that sticking to old beliefs can sometimes slow down the development of certain aspects of our everyday life.

On the one hand, traditional customs and habits might seem like stable and firm base for all the spheres of people’s life: economy, politics, social and cultural life. Traditions are mostly appreciated by older people, who almost always are not found of changes of any kind and much more likely to be conservative when it comes to maintaining their usual lifestyle, which is obviously stable. For these people stable means good, therefore some individuals will try to keep traditional customs as a base for society for as long as they can. In society driven by traditions often there are no fluctuations happening, so this will easily satisfiy people who are not fans of changes of any kind.

However, in society where traditional beliefs dominate every sphere there are not only no fluctuation, but also, very commonly, no growth. Sticking up to “good old-fashion” way of doing things, including managing economical, political, social, cultural problems, can and will probably lead to stagnation in said spheres. Doing something the way our parents and grandparents did might keep society existing but it’s not gonna help it to grow into something better. This growth can benefit individuals in all different ways. People need to understand that saying “yes” to some changes will not only make their life easier and better, but also lives of future generations.

In conclusion, I think it’s crucial to notice that, indeed, adapting to fast-changing world can be a little bit difficult, especially for older ages, but in the end these modern ideas are just a way to improve our life, not beliefs that was made out of spite to replace traditional customs.