Some believe that watching the news on TV and reading newspapers is a waste of time because the news has no relevance to people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Television and newspapers is playing vital role in updating everyone about the situations of what is happening in a society as well as around the world. However, some people hold the view that watching television and reading newspapers are unnecessary and wastage of time. In my opinion, some people may not like news, but for some it might be necessary.

With the advancement in technology in today’s world, most of the people are now more focused on spending time on the internet. This includes playing online games, scrolling social media websites of watching videos of their interest. For example, a most famous social media website named TikTok has billions of users, and it published that people spend over millions of hours on watching short funny videos. From this, we can conclude that people are more interested in watching videos rather than spending time watching television or skimming through the newspapers. Another important is that most of the news on television or newspaper are full of stress related to terrorism or politics. For example, one would not watch news of people dying when they come after a long day working but rather prefer to watch movie or short funny videos.

On the other hand, sometimes news can be necessary for the people who like politics. For example, most of the people make decisions of what the government is doing for the country, which helps them decide whom to vote for in the next election. Furthermore, it can also be necessary for businesspeople, news nowadays mostly focus on the stock exchange where people invest money. Thus, news can keep them updated on what stock money needs to be invested.

In conclusion, I would say that it is true that people are now going away from the news on television and newspapers. However, for some people, it might be necessary to watch TV and read newspapers for politics and business purposes.