Some believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some individuals think that responsibility to support the elders in the family when they lack the ability to take care of themselves should be legitimated. Personally, I disagree with this opinion.

It is undeniable that taking care of family members when they get older is considered a cultural tradition that should be fostered. In many countries, it is a filial obligation for the offspring to compensate for the care that parents gave to them in their youth. This shows their love, piety and appreciation for the sacrifices of the elders for their upbringing. Moreover, having the young supporting the older members can substantially reduce the burden of government budget allocated for ensuring the elderly’s wellbeing and social security. By this way, the national budget can be used for investment in other crucial sectors such as public healthcare or science.

However, this proposal fails to consider the related problems coming along with it. Firstly, obligation to support the elders can add up to the existing difficulties faced by the young. In this modern society where young families are already struggling with high living costs and child upbringing, having to cover another expenditure and responsibility for older members may worsen the situation, turning it into a burden that they have to carry. Secondly, this policy cannot be imposed in various family backgrounds. For instance, a disabled child who permanently has to rely on support from other people cannot be expected to take the responsibility to look after his parents when they get older. Therefore, adjustments in such rules may be troublesome and, in some cases, nearly impossible.

In conclusion, looking after older family members plays an important role in fostering good morality and reducing the national financial burden. However, I believe that it should not be considered an obligated responsibility due to the various arising problems, including the young’s increasing burden and suitability for diverse family backgrounds, making the rule impractical to be taken into effect.