Some children receive almost no encouragement from their parents regarding their performance at school, while other children receive too much pressure from their over enthusiastic parents which can have a negative impact on the child. Why do you think some parents put too much pressure on their children to perform well at school? What do you think the role of a parent should be in their child's education?

In recent years, more and more students have been under snowed with assignments and experienced pressure from academic performances. There are some parents who rarely motivate their children during their schooling days, while another child can feel exhausted because of overcaring their scores of parents. In this essay, I would analyse several causes of the tendency and concern to how parents educate their adolescents properly.

On the one hand, there are two main key factors of this phenomenon. First of all, it is believed by parents that putting too much attention to child’s academic results enables her or him to make attempt to learning well. This is because when students are always driven to come up to parents’ expectations, they have a thought that they are responsible for achieving high scores which makes parents pleased. Thus, youngsters would have a sense of guilt or an intense desire to be a flawless person if they did not attain good levels. In other words, they may lose self-sympathy and unintentionally miss happy moments of life or get rid of childish instincts. Secondly, this tendency stems from fulfilling parents’ ambitions that could not be accomplished in the past. It means that parents are so selfish that they extremely force offspring to excel in their study. This is a common psychological nature that as a consequence of unachieved goals, human beings often impose their dreams on others.

On the other hand, parents still play an indispensable role in their children’s education. Instead of putting excessive pressure on academic performances, they should provide mental support for students. Moreover, it is important for parents to not be indifferent and leave the youth struggling with stress caused by studying. For example, children who receive positive encouragement are potential to be more confident to study effectively. Finally, it is advisable that parents respect learners’ interests and abilities rather than comparing them with other students.

In conclusion, both parental pressure and indifference have adverse influences on children’s development. Hence, parents should adopt a more balanced approach in educating and supporting their children.