Some children receive almost no encouragement from their parents regarding their performance at school, while other children receive too much pressure from their over enthusiastic parents which can have a negative impact on the child. Why do you think some parents put too much pressure on their children to perform well at school? What do you think the role of a parent should be in their child's education?

While some parents do not stimulate their children for their successes, some parents put excessive pressure over their children, leading to negative impacts on the child. In this essay, I will answer the question about why children receive pressure in order to perform well at school. Besides, I am going to talk about roles of parents in children’s education and academic lives.

To begin with, even though some pupils have great marks at school, their parents already force them to perform greater without any appreciation. In my view, there is a necessary reason in parents’ this type of behaviors. For instance, Individuals who have suffered from financial problems or insufficient educational opportunities in the past want to provide their children with better future. However, what many parents forget is that children also need appreciation and support.

On the other hand, the role of parents in the children’s lives should be more supportive. Parents should motivate their children for any kind of efforts of own children and difficulties. Instead of focusing solely on children’s academic success, parents should take care of their child’s feelings and mental health. Paying attention to children’s individual interests might be helpful for them in order to create strong confidence. For example, provided statistics by Honk Kong University show that children who receive enough care and attention from their parents are more successful in their academic lives than others.

To conclude, parents often pressure their children because of their past experiences and struggles for a better future. Meanwhile, motivating and giving emotional support is more beneficial for children’s both mental and academic developments.