Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative trend?Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In this digital age, smartphones has become an inseparatable part among the minors. While they provide access to knowledge online, it is doing more harm than good. This essay explores the reason why children show tendency to over-rely on smart phones and argue that it is predominantly a negative trend.

There are two reasons explaining why children are so addictive to smartphones. First of all, smart phones are designed to be psychologically addictive. The addictive nature of the algorithm, the gaming industry and social media make it irresistable to the youngsters, who have yet developed a mature mindset to cope with manipulative technology. Besides, the changing social norms is a escalating factor that contributes to over-reliance on smart phones. Most children may feel isolated if they don’ t keep up with the latest trend online, to fit into their social group, they have to stay updated for self-esteem and better social connection.

Although smartphones do provide access to some information that wasn’t always available, over-reliance on smartphones is predominantly detrimental to younger’s wellbeing. To begin with, prolonged screen time result in more sedentary life style among the youngsters, which may cause healthy problems including vision problems and obesity. Besides, spending too much time on virtual interaction, being overly exposed to meaningless internet slangs or memes destroy teenagers’ verbal ability. A lack of linguistic richness can result in a narrow intellectual and emotional world. As a result, there may be a lack a empathy or understanding in their social interaction.

In conclusion, smartphones are in a way quietly destroying our next generation due to its addictive nature and the change of social norms. It is imperative for parents and educators to set clear boundaries to help the younger generation navigate through this tech-driven world and grow up to be considerate, happy adults.