Some cities create housing for their growing population by providing taller buildings. Other cities create housing by building on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

In daily life, due to the growth in population, many cities tend to construct higher buildings. In contrast, other cities choose to create housing by building a horizontal city. Although the two forms of constructions have their own benefits, I believe citizens living in a vertical city will receive more advantages than horizontal ones.

On the one hand, horizontal city provides privacy for individuals. There is a wider area of land using to expand their housing horizontally. Which means the distance between each property is widened. In addition, it can reduce traffic and congestion. Because of the lower population density, people gathered on the sparse road, and shorten commute time and ease the stress on the infrastructure. Moreover, instead of living in high-rise buildings, horizontal house brings more safety for citizens. For example, when fire occurs, people in horizontal house can exist in that case easier and quicker than people in higher buildings.

On the other hand, high-rise buildings have efficient land use, many lands are empty and make land for multiple facilities, so the government can earn profits from them. Additionally, vertical city accompany with environmental protection. By using airspace for construction, it limits horizontal sprawl and reduces the amount of natural destruction. As a result, people can reduce the danger of natural disasters. For instance, forests are destroyed to provide land for housing, while forests prevent erosions, floods and provide air for human life.

In conclusion, the Government should invest to construct high-rise buildings due to its benefits are efficient land use and protect the environment.