Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned from the city center. Public transportation like buses, taxis, and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Some of the cities have a policy in that if the use of private motorized vehicles is not allowed, then public transportation, like buses, taxis, and subways, is recommended. Even though this situation has both pros and cons, I believe the benefits of this policy outweigh the drawbacks.

First of all, it should be acknowledged that car-free days can cause some problems, especially for people who rely heavily on their cars. Public transportation may not be convenient for everyone, especially those who live in the suburbs or have to travel long distances. An example is parents who drop off their children to school or workers that go to remote regions may face difficulties on such days. Furthermore, people who rely heavily on private vehicles to get around, such as disabled people, may experience problems during this time as they need someone to walk them from the door and may have to rely on others.

Despite all those aformentioned arguments, beneficial sides of using public transportation surpass the drawbacks due to several reasons. One of the main advantages of car-free days is their positive influence on the environment. This helps improve air quality, which is beneficial for residents’ health, reduces the risk of diseases and makes cities a more pleasant place to live. Aditionally, when people cannot use their private cars, they are more likely to explore eco-friendly alternatives such as walking, cycling or using public transport. Over time, this can lead to a change in people’s daily habits, making them less dependent on cars. What’s more, in the long run, it may reduce traffic congestion and make cities more efficient and safer for everyone, including pedestrians.

To conclude, despite the disadvantages of local transport, such barriers for people with disabilities, there are other advantages that outweigh the disadvantages, including reducing pollution and traffic.