Some colleges encourage students to create businesses while they are still in school Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some colleges and universities believe that it is good for students to start businesses while they are still in school. The benefit of this is that students can gain experience and learn from practical projects, while the drawback is distraction from their educational goals. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of the above statement.

The great advantage of trying to get a business off the ground while still in college is that it helps students apply theoretical knowledge learned in the classroom to real-world situations. This will be a valuable asset for many students in their career as it significantly enhances essential soft skills such as communication, time management, problem-solving, and others. Practical evidence has shown that every year, approximately 1.6 million young people in Vietnam enter the workforce, yet a massive 83 percent of graduated students are considered to be lacking in soft skills. Thus, setting up businesses while studying can be very beneficial.

Nevertheless, students will struggle to devote themselves to their studies if they have to run their own businesses at the same time as launching a business requires commitment, hard work, and persistence in achieving objectives. Not only that this also involves a large amount of time and energy which should mainly be used to focus on study. All of the hindrances mentioned above, students will find it hard to balance between working and studying when both are crucial. This can result in long term stress and furthermore bad impact on students’ performances and development.

In conclusion, starting businesses can greatly benefit students’ future career, there are also disadvantages if they are forced to go into businesses while in college.