Some companies spend a lot of money on scientific research and use animals for testing. Do the advantages of using animals in research outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, some people believe that it is wrong to test new medicines on animals. They think animals should not suffer because of human activities. However, other people believe that animal testing is necessary before medicines are used by humans. In my opinion, I think the advantages of testing new medicines on animals are greater than the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are some disadvantages of animal testing. First, many animals have to suffer during experiments. Some of them become sick, feel pain or even die. This is sad because animals are living things and they should be treated kindly. Second, testing on animals is expensive. Scientists need to keep animals in laboratories and buy many machines for the tests. This means a lot of money is spent before a medicine can be sold. Finally, some people think animal testing is not always correct because animals and humans are different, so the results may not always be the same.

On the other hand, I believe the advantages are more important. The biggest advantage is that it helps protect human health. Before doctors give a new medicine to patients, they need to know if it is safe. Testing on animals can reduce the risk of dangerous side effects in people. In addition, many important medicines and vaccines were developed with the help of animal testing. Because some animals have bodies that are similar to humans, scientists can learn how medicines work before testing them on people.

In conclusion, although animal testing has several disadvantages, I think it is still necessary. It can help scientists produce safer medicines and save many human lives. Therefore, I believe the advantages of testing new medicines on animals outweigh the disadvantages.