Some consider that teenagers who commit severe crime must be punished the same as adults . To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

The debate surrounding how teenage crimes must be assessed and punished. Has been a highly discussed topics among society not only due to its complexity but also due to many factors that must be taken into account.

While some support the idea that teenagers must be punished according to the law regardless of their age. However, others believe that teenagers should be judged as juveniles due to their young age. Although, teenagers are still considering to be underaged – a crime cannot be justified and therefore they have to face the consequences of their actions. Even though they would be punished the severity of their punishment must be based on the gravity of the crime and the situation that led to them committing this act of breaking the law.

Nevertheless, teenagers are not adults yet as they are still developing physically and mentally and are therefore easily influenced by their environment and actions on people close to them. Research shows that moral judgment in teenagers is not sturdy and advanced enough as they are still young. This can result in their parents and peers’ opinions and views shaping their moral judgment. Sometimes this may result in them making the wrong choice.

Moreover, teenagers must undergo psychological evaluation. Since teenagers unlike adults commit crimes due to lack of knowledge and awareness. Adults however have a clear understanding of what they are doing and are making plans and calculation when doing so. Common reasons why young people commit crimes is due to problems at home such as parents that are absent or have addictions problems. Bullying and other pressures at school can also result in teenager acting out. Therefore, it can be said that young people commit crimes as a survival or coping mechanism whereas adults do so because of a malicious intent. So as was mentioned before a psychological is very important as it can help understand their reasons for breaking the law and as a result construct way to help young people to become better. This can be done through education since teenagers are still young and can be taught but adults cannot be re-educated which is one of the reasons adults receive harsher punishments than younger people do.

In conclusion I disagree with the belief that young people should be judged in the same way as adults since the crimes they commit are of different kinds and therefore the punishment received by teenagers must be lighter – but of course it should the severity of the crime in consideration. Also teenagers should be given a chance to become better people as they have a long life ahead of them.