Some consider that teenagers who commit severe crime must be punished the same as adults . To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Some are of the opinion that young criminals should receive the same punishments as adults if they violate severe crimes. From my personal viewpoint, I partially agree with this notion and this essay will explore reasons related to it.

On the one hand, implementing similar disciplines for all citizens including young and matured offenders when they commit serious crimes would ensure fairness of the legal system. As a matter of fact, criminals’ ages are getting younger and younger nowadays, as well as they are increasingly smart and well-equipped with advanced technology in order to do illegal actions. Besides, a number of individuals take advantage of their young age to intentionally break the laws as they are aware that the punishments will be less severe. Thus, punishments should be imposed based on the severity of violation but not the age of criminals. As a result, the legal system can assist to eliminate potential dangers making a great contribution to help the society safer in the future.

On the other hand, it is acknowledged that young individuals, who are different from adults, might lack real-life experiences to fully understand their actions’ consequences. Researchers have shown that adolescents’ brains are structurally and functionally immature, which influences decision-making and increases their tendency to engage in risky behaviors. Punishing teenage offenders lighter, together with providing education and training, means offering them a second chance to take responsibility for their actions, fix their mistakes, and become productive members of society after their reintegration.

In conclusion, although many advocate for treating young criminals in the same way as matured ones, personally, I partially agree with this idea as it is unable to address the root causes. With an aim to prevent juvenile offenders, it is essential to accommodate the young generation with education and training sessions to raise awareness of their actions’ consequences.