Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many countries provide top athletes with high quality facilities for achieving international sports than giving ordinary people an opportunity to do sports. I view this development negatively for several key reasons.

One disadvantage behind constructing facilities purely for national sport team lies in global competition itself. In today’s world international competitions became more than just tournament, as tournament points many times were assumed to be corrupted, with rise of sparked conflicts.Moreover, tournament points have turned to be changed in large part due to a biased attitude toward athletes. Take Iranian football players, for example. Many players did not get visa to the USA in order to take part in the Worldwide Football Championship because of conflict between the US and Iran. As a result, for the government it is more imporant to concentrate on its population than on internatinal sports.

Another demerit with facilities only for athletes and not for average person is intertwind with low quality of life. Country’s top priority is its population health and if the government invest only in facilities for national athletes, people at risk to follow inactive and sedentary lifestyles, leading to health problems. Japan is a pertinent case in point; Japanese government dedicate significant amount of money to free sport facilities, resulting in an expanded life expectancy among older generation. That is why the authorities should provide people with basic sport equipments.

In conclusion, channeling national funds only for top athletes negatively impact on quality of life of ordinary people, as lack of sport facilities reduces people’s ability to move more, subsequently leading to sedentary lives.