Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

It is often argue that some countries invest finance on specialized equipment only for elite athletes group, who can bring successes and achievements for their nations, while others contend that everyone should have access to them. From my viewpoints, I believe that the positives far outweigh the negatives for several reasons.

On the one hand, objectors argue that distinction between top athletes and other people may cause inequality and dissatisfaction. This is mainly because sports are not only for gaining achievements or awards, but also for everyone’s health or normal athletes, who want practice to become better. Additionally, it will limit the appearance of some younger potential athlete. The reason is that there is lots of elite athletes come from ordinary environment, not from the original elite systems. For instance, when facilities and grounds are only use for elite athletes, younger generations will be fewer opportunity to play or practice. As a result, there will be fewer chances to discover younger talents and this will significantly impact on the future source of athletes.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned reason, I am of the opinion that top athletes group should be prioritized by using specialized devices. One of the main reasons is that the limit budget to buy and allocate specialized equipment for everyone. By focus investing in elite groups, government can receive a more obviously result and allocate finance for things that more necessary such as healthcare, education or infrastructure. Another reason is that it can develop motivation of each athlete and become dream of them to be able to use those facilities. Younger athlete will be motivated to practice harder in order to be selected for the professional training system.

In conclusion, while sport facilities are essential for everyone to enhance their health and play a crucial role to explore potential talents for the future, I contend that specialized equipment should be prioritized for elite athletes, who have ability to gain achievements for countries, to minimize cost for other necessary fields and create motivation among younger athlete.