Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages of this outweighe the disadvantages?

Some nations allow elderly people to get a job to any age that they prefer. While there are certain benefits, the drawbacks far outweigh them.

One of the main benefits of allowing older people to work is that it enables them to stay active and independent. Many seniors enjoy their jobs and feel nostalgia when working with old friends and colleagues. The process of sharing experience is another advantage. Older employees can convey their valuable knowledge and skills to young staff to improve the quality of work in some industries.

Despite these upsides, the downsides of allowing elderly people continue working for as long as they wish are far greater. One major drawback is limiting job opportunities for younger generations. Older people remain in their positions for too long, hence this may increase youth unemployment and reduce motivation among young professionals.In addition, working at an advanced age might negatively affect the health of elderly employees, as most jobs require energy, focus and physical ability that naturally decline with age. As a result, employers may restrict the working hours and salary.

In conclusion, although letting old staff work as long as they want has some upsides, such as keeping them active and sharing experience, however I firmly believe that the negatives like fewer job opportunities for young people and possible health problems are more significant, therefore, this can easily outweigh the positives.