Some countries are struggling with an increase in crime rates. Many people think that capital punishment is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The significant rise of criminals in some nations leads to a ubiquitous belief that the death penalty is the only sufficient punishment to lessen such alarming problems. However, I mostly disagree with this notion because different punishments should be taken for different crime circumstances and there are better ways to limit the nationals’ crime rates.

I am of the opinion that capital punishment is not a solitary sentence as it does not effectively reduce the crime rate. This is because not all crimes are committed under the same circumstances. Take people who are juvenile offenders and criminals with mental illness as examples: in the former, juveniles are not mature enough and not fully responsible for their actions; in the latter, psychological delinquents are unaware of their behaviors. People living in such situations should not receive the same death penalty as someone who plans a crime with clear intention or cold-blooded murders.

Therefore, I believe that the government should promote more training programs in prison so criminals can be re-educated and develop new skills. By equipping them with new skills and guiding them to the right mindset, it can help prisoners rehabilitate to the community after being released from prison and help them make the right choices for life. Furthermore, the government should offer more employment jobs and increase social benefits to alleviate poverty. This stems from the fact that poverty and unemployment can lead people to crime due to financial pressure to pay bills and meet family responsibilities. Such a government’s efforts can bring hope and structure people’s lives. As a result, the crime rates can be decreased to some extent, and less opportunistic crime.

In conclusion, I am not in favor of harsh punishment as the death penalty should be the only approach to diminish the crime rates. While this punishment can deter criminals from heinous crimes, I believe that criminals should be offered training programs before re-socializing and people with underprivileged backgrounds must receive social benefits from the government to maintain their lives, in turn, the crime rates can be limited and society is effectively protected.