Some countries are struggling with an increase in crime rates. Many people think that capital punishment is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In contemporary society, the percentage of criminals is continuously increasing; therefore, a segment of the population suggests that the government should allow more police on the street to eliminate the crime rate. While this concern is true to some extent, I disapprove of this perspective as I contend that strengthening street security can potentially increase the number of other kinds of criminals.

On the one hand, the reinforcement of police presence in public spaces might alleviate the crime rate. Admittedly, pickpockets or robbers will be immediately punished if they are caught by the patrolling officers. This immediate punishment not only strengthens public security and reduces damages for local inhabitants but also acts as a deterrent to those who intend to commit illegal actions. Furthermore, an increase in police presence in the community partially influences the awareness of criminals. These potential breaklawyers have to consider their actions; in some cases, some will relinquish illegal activities, leading to a decrease in the crime rate.

On the other hand, security forces stationed in the society might increase other kinds of criminals. Pickpocketing or stealing might be superseded by other illegal actions such as scamming through cyberspace. These cyber criminals might significantly have negative impacts on people that can be prevented by police having computer literacy and IT skills; otherwise, street police might not have these skills. For instance, cyber criminals are exponentially increasing in Thailand. These illegal actions cannot be mitigated by patrolling offices because they might not have computer-related competency.

To conclude, although several individuals mention that increasing cops monitoring the roads can illiminate several kinds of criminals such as rubbery or theft, I disagree with this statement due to percieved perspective that the surge of alternate crimes, namely, cyber criminals, might increase in today’s world