What are the main problems associated with using social media platforms?

With the advancement of social media, we are faced with many problems related to the usage of such platforms. As a result of the frequent usage of social media apps with the lack of protection, people have fallen into more scams than ever before. In this essay I will discuss this issue at hand and the suggested solution.

Socal media apps foster plenty of predators and provides them with easy access to a large number of potential victims. Unfortunately, the creation of multiple accounts on most social media apps is extremely easy, which leads to the abuse of accessibility. Furthermore, a good proportion of internet users are children and elderly people, both are the target groups of scammers who take advantage of their lack of knowledge. For an example, a famous Youtube channel of a man who disguises himself as an elder showcase how significantly older people are targeted by a large operation in India.

The owners of these platforms should implement authentication stages to protect users of possible harm done on their applications. Despite the popular solution of raising awareness and educating the groups targeted most, a better approach would be a systemic one, such as making it hard to create multiple accounts. When the companies responsible for these apps build a more complicated process for scammers, it deters a good number of them. For instance, Facebook uses artificial intelligence to detect if a person made more than one account using the same computer.

In conclusion, social media applications attract an unfortunate number of people who are willing to prey on naïve and ignorant users. It is necessary that the companies protect its users by complicating account creation.