Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development? You should write at least 250 words.

Laws to restrict working periods for workers have been implemented in some nations. These laws are introduced for many different reasons mostly regarding the welfare of employees.

Firstly, labor laws restricting the working hours per day is beneficial for the health of employees. When going to work, people have to deal with a lot of stress and heavy workload. If they do not have sufficient rest time or their jobs strech into their leisure hours, the employees will become tired and stressed out. Furthermore, if this situation persists, workers’ health will be affected, leading to many serious health problems. By limiting working time per day, employees will receive the legal protection to say no to working overtime or demand proper compensation if they agree to it.

Secondly, many companies want their employees to work overtime because they want to meet quotas, or finish a deadline as soon as possible. Without labor laws limiting working hours, these institutions will force their workers to work as much as possible with neither proper rest nor down time for people to rewind after a long day at their jobs. As mentioned before, these violation of laws limiting working periods or the lack of said regulations can have grave concequences on workers’ health. Therefore, these legislations are needed to ensure workers’ rights are protected and hold companies accountable if violations happen.

In conclusion, goverment should implement laws to limit working hours for employees because it is a positive development on workers’ rights. It will help workers protect their physical and mental health. Moreover, this will become a legal basis to stop companies from forcing their employees to work overtime with proper pay.