Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors to take part in major competitions such as Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people say that it would be better to spend this money encouraging children to take up sports from a young age.

Nowadays, governments in various nations are investing huge funding in global sports contests. However, some oppose and claim that such disbursement of funds should be allocated to motivating youngsters to participate in sporting activities from early childhood. I completely agree with the opinion.

Firstly, I believe that children are the country’s future, and the same fact applies to sports. The current competitors for sports will soon age and become unable to participate in sporting events. Therefore, spending the government’s national budget on children will facilitate the early preparation and training of successful sportsmen in the future. If the young populace is trained from an early age, with the right coaches and set of equipment provided by the state, they will dominate every global sports competition there is. For instance, according to Michael Phelps’ Olympics biography, he started pool training at the age of seven. Thus, when he reached 15, he competed in his first Olympics and never lost ever since. This clearly manifests how sports training for children leads to exemplary results for the athletes and their country.

Secondly, financial support for children’s sports is the main contributor to a healthier society. More and more children these days are suffering from obesity, heart ailments, and other diseases brought about by a sedentary lifestyle or lack of outdoor playing time. By providing opportunities like holding regular sports events for them, it can help the children get some exercise and improve their overall health, reducing the country’s financial burden as regards medical facilities and practitioners.

In conclusion, I absolutely concur that investing in youth sports than in world-renowned sports tournaments will bring numerous advantages for their countries in terms of future winnings and impact on the national health system.