Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favor.

While some nations have passed laws against tobacco consumption in public buildings, a few seem uninterested in doing so. In this essay, we will consider both sides of this topic.

On the one hand, many countries have passed laws, making the use of tobacco in public places such as offices and restaurants illegal. Such laws are enacted after taking the negative health effects on the person in proximity into consideration. Science has shown that the direct smoke coming out of cigarettes does has an adverse effect on people. This puts a non-smoker person at a threat of serious diseases like cancer. Furthermore, smoking in out leaves a negative impact on the future young generation, enabling them to pick up such bad habits early on in life. For instance, drug overuse in young people in America is the result of early and uncontrolled exposure to bad substances. This early introduction leads them to try all new types of drugs and then at some point, people get addicted, causing their and the country’s future to cripple.

On the other side, some countries do not even think of this as a raging problem. The reason is that a significant amount of their economy is contributed by the consumption of tobacco. If they were to prohibit people from smoking in public buildings, overall sales would be negatively affected and this would show an unappreciated toll on the economy. On top of that, some public buildings such as restaurants depend heavily on their customer who are primarily smokers. If smoking were to be banned, these small businesses would become a lost memory, again leaving negative marks on the economy.

To conclude, I believe that every country should make it illegal to smoke in public buildings because of the negative impact it has on people and the coming generations. Countries who still haven’t understood the scarcity of this problem as their present is at stake need to think about the doomed future if this continues.