Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favor.

Laws on public smoking is a matter of controversy. Some people support these laws. However, the matter is not entirely straightforward, there are also people who are against them. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the debate and give a concluding view.

To begin with, smoking tobacco has proven to have detrimental effects on both the smoker and those around him. Research has shown that not only are smokers prone to respiratory disorders, but also passive smokers, who are subjected to second-hand smoke, are at risk of these issues. Supporters of laws forbidding smoking in public cite these concerns, which are undeniably well-grounded.

On the other side of the argument, smoking in public might be considered as a personal choice. In other words, one is responsible for his own health in the first place, so opponents of preventive public smoking laws might cite this fact refuting the necessity for these laws. Those who see smoking laws in negative light tend not to limit others’ freedom in making decision for their lives. Simply put, they believe that either the smoker or the passive smoker is responsible for their health, so there is no point in enforcing laws.

In summary, It seems logical to conclude that we can differentiate between the right and the wrong, consequently, there is no need for laws on public smoking.