Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which is better?

Students nowadays have access to two types of education systems, one of which put emphasizes on only a few subjects for the fifteen while the others have no limitation on the number of subjects learnt by students until they finish the courses. One might say the former makes children excel in certain subjects. However, from my point of view, the latter is better since it broadens learners’ knowledge zone and helps them to choose career paths for the future.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that focusing on studying only a few subjects lets students be good at them. This can be explained that owing to the limited range of required subjects they could devote more time to digging down each subject’s content, helping them to excel in such subjects. For instance, instead of having to distribute time to study all 5 to 7 subjects in a week, students would concentrate on 2 to 3 subjects like Maths, Literature, and Physics in the same period. Therefore, they have more time to mull their newly learned knowledge over and achieve desirable results.

However, the education systems allowing students to study a great deal of subjects have more benefits than the others. Firstly, by learning a wide range of subjects, students push their boundaries of knowledge. That is to say, students enrich their understanding by studying not only science subjects or languages but also artistic ones like music, painting, and so on, ultimately creating the foundation for holistic education. Another perk is that it could guide students in their future careers as it makes them exposed to a variety of fields. To be more specific, since students understand the basis of each subject such as art and science, they grow their interest in certain fields, which could be their work orientation after graduation.

In conclusion, whilst studying only a few subjects helps students to master some fields, absorbing knowledge from various subjects may affect intensively students’ understanding and decision on their future jobs.