Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which is better?

In some schools, it is common to teach students certain subjects at the age of 15, while others claim students need to master other subjects as well until the graduate school. In my opinion both teaching methods have positive outcomes and negative consequences that should be considered.

First and foremost, one of the primary advantages of specializing in only certain school subjects is achieving full academic mastery in those areas. This is because, these chosen academic fields require deep focus, hard work and diligent study without distractions. For example, if students choose history or literature to study, it is possible to learn every nook and cranny of these subjects which can help them to be experts in those academic fields after a long period of studying. That’s why this plays an important role in sudents’ academic performance.

Irrespective of the positive outcomes that the first method brings, learning a wide range of subjects also very essential and must be used instead of the first system. The reason is that, after mastering one or two subjects students lack other academic fields which are undeniably vital. For instance, there are many compulsory subjects such as art, math, chemistry and physics which help students to gain wider experience, enhance their critical thinking ability and broaden their horizon about the world, as well as enhancing the comprehension of complex theories. Consequently, this paves the way for gaining better academic experience for students.

In conclusion, despite the advantages that the first educational method could offer, we should focus more on learning other academic subjects rather than just sticking to certain areas of learning.