Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the world nowadays is becoming much diverse than the old times, students are often encouraged to engage in non-exam fields of study in order to connect with the world more efficiently. Though these subjects do not guarantee a better grade for academic success in the short run, they can foster a healthy attitude towards students’ learning habits and affect his personality in the long term, and can eventually influence their academic accomplishment.

For starters, participating in art-based subjects usually demands an alternative critical thinking skill, which is linked with the ability to create new thoughts. For instance, an immersive music class can help students develop a soft skill not only to appreciate the beauty of a piece of music but also to learn how to interpret it in their own way; on the other hand, a drama class may also offer an interesting way of training that makes students put their artistic ideas into practice. By applying these skills, students can adjust to different types of learning styles more flexibly, and can also learn to give new insights towards their academic study.

Moreover, although art curriculums may not yield immediate tangible results, its benefits for long-term development are undeniable. One of the most essential part of these art courses is that they also incubate a students’ ability to show their persistence on a certain field of study because they demand a lot of trivial practices. If he overcome this challenge, the philosophies he has acquired in these classes may do him good when he turns mature a few years later when he is pursuing an academic degree.

To sum up, it is beneficial for secondary school students to be in part of art-based courses, since it not only augments a student’s mental strengths but also makes them feel more comfortable with academic subjects.