Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nobody can deny the fact that education plays an essential role in human’s life. Currently, it is considered by several scientists that secondary school students have to learn arts-based subjects which are not crucial in exams, like art, craft, drama and music. I partly agree with this statement. In the following paragraphs, I will analyze all this idea with reasons, justifications and examples.

On the one hand, arts-based subjects are necessary for children. Firstly and foremost, art, craft, music and drama may help students to find their ability and interests. Because after trying everything, it is easy to find about their skills. Secondly, that kind of subjects improve imagination and creativity. As, when they draw or make, they should imagine something or someone, it has a great effect on their mind. Finally, these subjects kind of relaxation for children’s mind. Since, academic subjects are difficult and boring to children, their mind ought to have a rest.

On the other hand, these subjects are not vital for kids’ future. Since, after graduating school they should enter the University, but there no exam questions from that kind of subjects. For example, they demand academic subjects like math, history and mother tongue. Initially, these subjects are wasting time for learners. As, they do not have to pass the exam from these subjects at University. In addition to this, studying these subjects may be extra information for them. Because they have to study plenty of academic subjects.

Taking everything into consideration, it seems to me that, although arts-based subjects improve imagination, they are waste of children’s time. What is more, if all individuals take care about this view, it will be more pleasant to inhabit in our hectic world.