Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate regarding if each child should be educated in terms of playing a musical instrument. Considering that the pros outweigh the cons, the idea might take an essential part in the education system.

The foremost argument to justify my stand is that being able to play a musical instrument is not only an external talent. The internal part which is the brain developes many synapses through the learning phase. Therefore, the child might experience improvements cognitively. Besides this some studies indicate that art activities such as playing an instrument or at least trying to learn how to play in instrument has an positive correlation with practical thinking. This kind of skill has an huge impact on their school performances.

Furthermore, the other reason to prove my point is that music is one cultural inheritance that a country contains. History classes might not the only way for individuals to gain awareness of their own history. Especially for young children it is significant to teach them in a way they would internalize the information rather than memorising it. To add to this, learning how to play tunes belonging to one’s own culture might be a motivational factor for the child. For instance they may also want to showcase those talents, especially since school performances are so popular.

To conlcude and offer my position there are convincing arguments for the education system to consider those arrangements. This might also create a new point of view in which children can freely express themselves on any type of instrument. My reasons mentioned are logically acceptable.