Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As modern neurological science is evolving in this 21st century, more ways are being explored to increase capabilities of children. And learning to play a musical instrument has been proven fruitful for children in numerous science researches. While the experts on education suggest that teaching how to play a musical tool should be introduced to the children for their own good, I hold a similar view, but not the same. This essay will discuss the factors involved in this suggestion from the educationalists before presenting my reason of expressing a distinct view.

To begin with, there is enough scientific evidence to show that when pupils learn to use a music instrument it effects various regions of their brain function is a positive way. Proponents supporting this view may show so many reasons behind it. For instance, if a child learns how to play a guitar or a piano, certain areas of the brain will stimulate the neurons to learn something new, as well as enhance a child’s creative abilities. Not only that, when they are busy in learning a particular segment of art, it enriches their cognitive sense of art and music. Besides, parents can also feel a relief as their kids are occupying their time is gathering a new skill that may help them to become productive from an early stage of life.

Look at it from a different viewpoint, learning to play a musical instrument is not the only way. There are many other activities that can be provided to the children, such as playing puzzle games, or even dancing. Such activities are also proved to be helpful for both mental and psychological aspects. For children, dancing also produces some great results by encouraging certain parts of of the brain and following the particular dance steps helps their thinking process to develop.

To summarize, there is no doubt that learning to play a musical instrument is greatly helpful for the children, I definitely agree with this view. But I also maintain that other ways are also available to kids.