Some employers are giving increased importance to employ people with good social skills in addition to good qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree that social skills are as important as good qualifications for success in a job ?

Whether social skills should be viewed as having the same significance as good qualifications has ignited an ongoing debate. It is argued that some employers are placing more emphasis on hiring people with good social skills to go with good qualifications. Personally, I tend to agree with this statement to a certain degree.

Admittedly, good qualifications can serve multiple benefits in career. Firstly, a candidate’s qualifications often indicate a solid foundation in the technical skills essential for the efficient completion of job tasks. For example, it is often the case that certified English translators are able to translate documents accurately and quickly, especially facing with tight deadlines and heavy work loads. In addition, when the public face tough competition for jobs, strong qualifications can differentiate candidates, boasting their performance in job market. To be more specific, as per the latest bulletin from the International Labor Organization, many industries still confront a shortage of specialized personnel, suggesting that a relevant qualification can help to secure higher-paying jobs.

However, social skills also contribute to success in a job. In terms of teamwork, social skills enable employees to effectively communicate and collaborate with team members, which are crucial abilities to achieve individual potential in one group. Besides, employees with strong social skills tend to handle disagreements better. This is because those experienced in socializing may find information quickly and easily from other points of view. As a result, they can able to resolve conflicts in a way that maintains positive relationships.

In conclusion, both good qualifications and social skills are the keys in success of tasks. Especially when dealing with comprehensive issues, mastering these qualities and abilities can make you stand out.