Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

Today it is becoming increasingly common for employers to find ways to enhance their employee’s productivity and allocate the target-related payments for employees in order to achieve this. There are enough reasons on both sides in terms of subsidising.

Firstly, it is true that sports clubs and gyms are the most powerfull tools of feeling healthier and act as an effective way to alleviate working pressure. This means that the physical condition is crucial in job satisfaction which is in itself motivating factor. For example, doctors have to sit and work for half of a day without any exercise and not mention the exsecive meet of injured people and strive to set a balance relationship, thereby feeling exhausted and stressed as a result these (whether gyms or sports clubs) are the keys to get rid of the negative effects which they will face in their working time.

Secondly, Subsidising gyms and sports can be seen from the opposite angle because they are not always the right decision in progression because the company need to spend funds on ongoing training and day release programmes or they are given regular feedback to be motivated and committed. Furthermore, they create the rewards like incentives and bonuses that makes them hit a target.

In conclusion, while health-related subsidies are superficially attractive, ongoing training and other factors would appear to be a better use of company or Human resources budgets.