Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many researchers argue that childrenshould begin learning a foreignlanguage at elementary school rather than secondary school. This essay will argue that the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks.

The main disadvantage of learning a foreign language at primary school is that children may risk languageconfusion. Young children are often fluent in both their mother tongue and the foreign language they are learning. Furthermore, this is not scientifically supported. Another disadvantage of learning a foreign language at primaryschool is the pressure on students. While many young learners already struggle with core subjects such as math and literature, the expectation to excel in multiple languages can be an additional pressure during childhood. This can have negative effects on both their physical and mental well-being.

The first merit of learning a foreignlanguage at primary school is that it increases the likelihood of achieving fluency in adulthood. That is to saythat they will have far more years to perfect their skills, and it will seem perfectly normal to speak bilingually. For example, in my country, Vietnam, parents are increasingly enrolling theirchildren in private schools to learn English. As the international language, proficiency in English can enhance job opportunities. Besides, what makes learning foreign languages at primaryschool beneficial is that children are becoming Global citizens. The evidence is that learning foreignlanguages helps students be more confident in communication. The way they speak a new language is also the way they show their style, ability and character in general. In addition, it is believed that languages are the key to discovering the world. For instance, when a young child is good at an international language such as English, they can access information from the Internet more easily.

In conclusion, while there might be concerns about the added workload for children, the benefits of introducing foreign language learningat elementary school are significant. I firmly believe that beginning foreignlanguage learning at elementaryschool is a beneficial approach to improving children’s linguistic abilities and promoting overall development.