some experts believe that it is better for children to learn foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages ?

Globalisation draws public attention to linguistic education. Some experts claim that kids should accept courses in a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. In my point of view, I believe the benefits of learning a second language earlier outweigh the disadvantages.

There are some foreseen drawbacks to learning foreign languages at elementary school. Receiving lessons in second languages will inevitably place academic burdens on young kids. Kids of that age are still struggling to learn their mother tongue, therefore, they might suffer from linguistic disorders and ultimately fail to learn either of the languages. Moreover, if arranging for little kids to learn second languages would expose kids to pressure, it might jeopardize their mental health. Especially when children can’t adapt themselves to school life and schedule.

However, second-language modules at elementary school can help upbring kids holistically. Firstly, it is undeniable that young children possess the capacity to imitate others. It means that they can model after professional pronunciation, and thus they will enjoy a better performance in fluency rather than those who learn foreign languages at secondary school. Also, chances to learn a different language earlier can enhance individuals’ intellectual growth. Specifically, requiring kids to establish systems to shift different languages will keep their brains active, which can stimulate their potential capability. More importantly, taking foreign language lessons will cultivate children’s ability to be open-minded. Since languages are related to certain languages, children can have access to diverse cultures, and thus they will grow up in multiple cultural environments and be trained to think critically.

In conclusion, learning a second language at a younger age can foster kids’ mindsets and provide them with linguistic skills that will bring about long-term positive effects on children’s future. As long as educators make efforts to assist children when learning and develop methods to alleviate the stress that children may undertake.