Some experts believe that when a country is already rich, any additional increase in economic wealth does not make its citizens any more satisfied. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some experts, citizens of already wealthy states do not feel more satisfied with further economic growth. I completely disagree with the statement, as even the richest countries have strata of the population that struggle to make ends meet in the current situations; moreover, the advancement of many important life sectors is unconceivable without constant economic development.

First of all, it should be said that it is impossible to find a country where each individual would enjoy the same living standards, which would make additional development unnecessary. It means that if the government puts a halt to economic wealth, it will deprive people from a lower class of the chance to improve their existence. At the moment, even such developed economies as the USA, Japan and Canada fail to tackle the problem of homelessness and the high level of poverty in some cities. However, by growing their economies, they will enhance the quality of life of those who are unsatisfied with it now.

Another point to consider is that better healthcare, new innovations greatly depend on the stable financial growth. In other words, medicine and science are unthinkable without significant cash injections whose sums increase annually; therefore, if a country cannot provide them, it will face a decline in all spheres. Consequently, people will be inevitably worse off, which cannot but influence the feeling of happiness.

In conclusion, a country’s wealth does not reflect the level of contentment of everybody residing there and does not represent a guarantee of the prosperous future. That is why additional work on it should not be stopped.