Some experts say for road safety cyclists should pass a test before being allowed on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the number of accidents is increasing significantly. While I accept that cyclists should pass an exam to use a vehicle on public roads, I believe it should not be compulsory for everyone.

On the one hand, I agree that road cyclists should be required to have licenses. Firstly, it will improve road safety. Indeed, cyclists often share the road with cars, buses, and pedestrians. Therefore, having a test ensures they understand traffic rules and signals, which helps reduce accidents. Secondly, it makes people become more responsible. In fact, some cyclists still ignore red lights, use mobile phones, or ride in the wrong lanes. Because of these issues, a test encourages a sense of responsibility and accountability.

Nevertheless, I am firmly convinced that a test for bike riders is not practical to enforce. It is true that it would be costly and difficult to implement for all bikers around the world, especially for children. Instead, we should focus on improving infrastructure, raising public awareness, and promoting mutual respect among road users. Additionally, according to many people, most accidents are caused by drivers. Moreover, statistics often show that motorists are the main cause of fatal road accidents involving cyclists.

In conclusion, while cyclists may take a test to ride safely on the road, it should not be considered essential.