Some experts say for road safety cyclists should pass a test before being allowed on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this globalized era, there are a myriad of transports, cars, and also bicycles, which cause numerous accidents. However, to drive transports, you have to obtain a driving license, but for bikes it is not necessary. That is why the majority of cyclists do not have experience and knowledge to ride cycles, and they are the main factor in the increasing accident range. Many experts consider that for road safety, cyclists should pass a compulsory test before being allowed on public roads. Although some opponents argue that even so, getting a driver’s license is an unnecessary restriction, I strongly disagree with this perspective.

The opponents think education should be provided instead of tests, but this point is not reasonable, because if they do not have difficulties, most of them do not focus on the education and do not learn the rules. According to available statistics, cyclists are responsible for a significant proportion of road accidents, exceeding fifty percent. The substantial reason for that is a lack of knowledge of traffic rules. Therefore, the government must organize legal requirements for formal assessment. Consequently, this approach would significantly reduce accidents and ensure safety for all road users.

On the other hand, this idea would be abhorred by citizens, because this idea would be thought to create barriers and limit personal freedom for people who ride environmentally friendly vehicles. Thus, this measure might be counterproductive for the government. A more effective solution would be presenting the basic traffic knowledge and educational initiatives. Moreover, the government needs to impose this implementation step by step. For example, if a cyclist breaks the rule, the police should teach the policy only to him. From my perspective, this would be the only way to correct the regulation.

In conclusion, if we weigh the advantages and disadvantages of educating cyclists about the rules, the benefits outweigh all of the drawbacks. Furthermore, organizing these rules gradually will be a more practical alternative.