Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion. Topic

With the poulation on a constant rise, city planning has become a pertinent issue. Some are of the opinion that cities should be aesthetically planned, while opponents opine that they should be functionally planned. I will discuss the both sides and further enunciate why I stand with the latter.

When cities are aesthetically laid out, more people are inclined to visit. The number of tourists are on a surge. Humans have a tendency to be associated with or have luxurious experiences. For example, Dubai records an ever-rising notable number of tourists since its urbanisation began in the last century and this increase in visitors subsequently translates to more available revenue.

On the other hand, functionality plays a directly more beneficial role in improving the living standards of the residents. When functionality is placed as a priority in designing, daily tasks and activities are easier and less burdensome. For example, residents do not have to commute local distances to grocery shop as allocations for supermarkets and grocery stores are within proximity. Factories and commercial centres are not erected in residential areas, this reduces noise pollution and improves the quality of life of citizens. Green spaces are available for picnics and physical activities like hiking and taking walks.

In coclusion, I believe that cities should be functionally designed because tourists are only temporary. Residents ensure that there is indeed a community and a functionally-designed city is more benefical to them.