Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion. Topic

Some believe that cities should be aesthetically pleasing, while others opine differently and believe functionality should be prioritized. In my opinion, both the functionality and beauty of a town are of paramount importance.

On one hand, making a city organized into different parts to increase functionality benefits all the people. Dividing certain areas based on their local environment as residential and industrial regions would lead to less traffic and will save time. For example, Chandigarh is one of the few municipalities in India which are developed keeping functionality a priority.

On another hand, a beautiful city has its own pros. An aesthetically pleasing city feels homely and inviting, which further makes the inhabitants happy and motivated. Furthermore, it attracts tourism, hence boosting the economy and helping local businesses. For instance, Paris is the most visited city on the planet, and it is declared to be one of the most heavenly places on earth. Due to heavy tourism, it has become the richest city in France.

In my opinion, a balance should be found between aesthetics and effectiveness. A town should be functional yet pleasing, but not at the cost of convenience and vice versa. No one wants to live in a place swamped by buildings, and neither does one want to reside in a location which looks heavenly but is in the middle of nowhere with no connectivity.

In a nutshell, some opine a city should be constructed keeping beauty in mind, while others believe functionality is more important. I strongly believe that a sweet spot and a balance between the two is crucial.