Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion. Topic

People have different views about the most important aspects of cities. Some may feel that beauty should come first in terms of the development of cities, but in my view, functionality should be the priority for city developers.

On the one hand, beautiful cities can generate significant revenue. In this sense, many city planners may focus on the aesthetics of metropolises. The flow of tourists, which is a major source of income for many renowned places such as Dubai and Tashkent, can be increased dramatically when these cities offer a wide range of spectacular and beautiful views along with various exotic experiences. It is not uncommon for tourist destinations to flourish in many ways since travelers are eager to spend a large amount of money on their needs. This, in turn, can create employment opportunities for local people and contribute economically to the cities. Therefore, many people advocate the idea of prioritizing beauty when building cities.

However, I believe that governing bodies should first consider the functionality of the cities. The mobility of local commuters and visitors is one of the primary concerns. No matter how beautiful cities are, inefficient transportation systems, including public transport, may lead to inconvenient commuting experiences. This might, as a result, give rise to stress among locals and visitors alike. Moreover, public facilities such as hospitals, educational institutions, dining areas, and green zones should also be properly designed for the betterment of the local community. If the beauty of cities is prioritized at the expense of these essential services, residents and travelers might prefer leaving these cities as soon as they can instead of enjoying or settling down.

In conclusion, while many people argue that cities should prioritize beauty as it helps financially, in my opinion, functionality should be considered first.