Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion. Topic

People have different views about the most important aspects of cities. Some feel that beauty should come first of the development of cities, but in my view, functionality ought to be the priority for city planners.

On the one hand, beautiful cities can generate significant revenue. In this sense, many city planners focus on aesthetics of megapolises. The flow of tourists, which is the main source of the income for many renowned cities such as Andijan and Dubai, can be dramatically increased when these metropolises offer wide range of spectacular and striking views along with various exotic experiences. It is not uncommon for tourist destinations to flourish in many ways since travelers are eager to spend huge amount of money on their needs. This, in turn, can create various employment opportunities for local residents and contribute economically to the cities. Therefore, many people advocate the idea of prioritizing beauty when building cities.

However, I believe that governing bodies should first consider functionality of the cities into account. The mobility of local commuters and visitors is one of the primary concerns. No matter how cities beautiful are, inefficient transport system, including public transport, may lead to inconvenient commuting experiences. This, as a result, give rise stress among locals and visitors alike. Moreover, public facilities like hospitals, educational institutions, dining areas, and green zones should also be properly designed for the betterment of local community. If the beauty of cities is prioritized at the expense of essential services, residents and travelers might prefer leaving these cities as soon as they can instead of enjoying and settling down.

In conclusion, while many people argue that the beauty of cities should be fundamental as it help financially, in my opinion functionality should be considered first.