Some feel that tourism endangers culture while others feel it is beneficial. DIscuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There is a discussion about whether tourism is more advantageous or disadvantageous to local cultures. I am of the opinion that an influx of tourists can provide numerous benefits to communities and will explore both perspectives as follows.

On the one hand, one of the severe consequences of mass tourism is environmental and ecological impacts. Tourists are an alien species, so to speak. To elaborate, many pieces of evidence have proven that humans have destroyed the ecosystem of the country they visit by indulging themselves in local resources. For instance, as a result of welcoming a flock of travellers without restrictions, many beaches in the south of Thailand have been littered with waste. On top of that, domestic marine creatures such as dugongs have been reported to have lost their natural habitats and been forced to go astray.

On the other hand, economical benefits should be at the forefront of a debate against tourism. While it may be true that natural preservation should be prioritised, there is no doubt that money is one of the most important factors to sustain local resources. As Thailand is reliant on tourism, its government profusely profits from inbound tourism expenditure and in turn is able to enact laws to prevent depletion of natural resources as well as damage to touristic areas by visitors and invest in security and facilities. For example, during the annual Loy Krathong festival, the government could run a campaign about making a krathong, a small, floating religious offering, with environmentally friendly materials and provide a safe river bank before it is released to rivers so that it does not harm marine animals and attract more environmentally aware tourists to the country.

In conclusion, even though tourism can possibly demolish culture because they are irresponsible to natural resources in local areas, they come with income which, in fact, is perhaps more crucial if there is a deliberate management to prevent loss engendered by tourists and preserve the cultural wonders of the country.