"Some findings have revealed that cities around the world are growing large." Could you online the possible causes and predict consequences?

Nowadays, with the development of industrialization and modernization, humans’ living standards have been enhanced significantly, and human rights are being paid close attention. Indeed, as a result of such advancements, there still remains a controversial topic about whether urbanization has increased globally, as major cities have begun to expand at unprecedented rates. From my perspective, the essay will shed light on the main factors that contribute to urban expansion and will predict the potential consequences it may have in the future.

To start with, I am convinced that numerous main causes lead to the growth of metropolis areas. As far as I am concerned, it is an inevitable trend, which is compatible with the increasing population growth. Obviously, in the process of urbanization, many skyscrapers and high-rise buildings are commonly built to provide enough accommodation for people. For instance, in District 2 there are many apartment buildings such as Masteri Thao Dien Apartment or Thao Dien Pearl Apartment to serve the living needs of citizens. Moreover, big cities can easily attract foreign investment, which will create more job opportunities for citizens. By way of illustration, Binh Duong is a typical example for attracting more and more workers in factories. With a favorable investment environment, clear and transparent business support policies, and increasingly perfect social and technical infrastructure, Binh Duong province has built solid trust in the domestic and foreign business community abroad. Last but not least, the expansion of urban areas means that humans’ living standards can be improved significantly. This is the main purpose of the Government in a certain country.

In addition to the aforementioned factor, this phenomenon has caused many positive and negative impacts on society. On the favorable side, people may have more job opportunities and higher income. This is true for my parents, who left their hometown a long time ago 27 years ago to come to a big city specifically here, HCM city. In addition, in modern cities, people can have higher quality of life, living conditions, infrastructure and education levels. That is why students from rural areas go to the city to study at university because there are many prestigious universities here. However, urban areas can widen the gap between rich and poor because the rich are growing in number and getting richer. Furthermore, migration can lead to social or environmental problems if the government does not have appropriate policies for those problems.

Hence, the rapid growth of cities is driven by economic factors and the pursuit of improved living standards. While this phenomenon can lead to increased innovation and opportunity, it also poses significant challenges. Therefore, we should take a proactive approach to urban planning and social policy to exploit the benefits of urbanization while minimizing its adverse effects.