Some individuals feel that working from home, while of benefit to employees, is actually a drawback for employers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that working remotely is beneficial for employees while a drawback for employers. I agree with the idea of this essay and will discuss the advantages and disadvantages in reference to employees and employers respectively.

On the one hand, working from home is beneficial for workmen as they don’t have to commute to their workplace daily. Hence, by saving the travelling time and fuel expenses, an employee can save a major portion of his remuneration. Additionally, working remotely can also be one of the solutions for reducing traffic and fuel consumption. For instance, when an employee is working from his own comfort place, he could be more effective and accurate while performing the assigned task.

On the other hand, this new method of working is a difficulty for the companies for the reason that there is no check on the employees, whether they are working sincerely or not. In some cases, the designated duties were not met on the deadlines, company losses and its client resulting, portray a negative profile of the organisation. For example, when one of the employees is not doing his part of the job, the whole project and team members will suffer as his task will have to be performed by some other worker or by the entire team.

Conclusively, I agree with the view of allowing workers to perform their work remotely but this could be an issue for the manager or head if any employee is unreliable or careless while accomplishing his allotted work. There should be regular meetings related to the work updates and if someone is facing any technical issue while doing his part, that could be resolved promptly to complete the task on or before time limit.