Some languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In today’s society, it is now common that some languages, including Chinese and English, are more widely used than others. From my perspective, although this trend has certain drawbacks, I believe this could be a positive development.

On the one hand, the dominance of some languages can pose a significant threat to the cultures of some countries. In some regions, using worldwide common languages such as English and Chinese cannot fully convey the meaning and precious messages that some languages have. If this continue, the unique cultures of some regions will likely to erode and indigenous residents might face the loss of identity. As can be seen in New Zealand, the number of people speaking Maori, the indgenous language, is now only 200000 due to the dominance of Europeans and their politics against the Maori. Therefore, it is of great importance that governments preserve local values.

On the other hand, many individuals contend that using some languages worldwide is crucial for economic growth. This trend could facilitate foreign trade because the language barrier is likely to be removed. Through this, overall economic development in some nations could accelerate and governments might also use public funding to promote their own cultures. For instance, in some nations, people are encouraged to create products associated with manifesting patriotism, valuable cultures and these products are supported by the governments. As a result, cultural integration not only fosters economic growth but also conserves and strengthens the cultures of some countries.

In conclusion, despite some drawbacks, I remain convinced that the widespread use of certain languages could improve economic growth and conserve the local cultures of some countries