Some observers say that police officers should be recruited from the communities where they work, so that they have local knowledge. Other people say that this is unnecessary, or even undesirable. Where do you stand on this debate? Is local knowledge essential in modern policing?

It’s not secret that trustworthy cap is paramount in society today, especially as criminals become more devious and creative. Some argue that, police should be locally hired, but others disagree with this view.

On the one hand, if police officers from the neighborhood, they know and understand the minutiae of the local community. For example, a community may have a special ceremony or a history of specific grievance, whether religious, political or otherwise. In such situations, police can work effectively together with local community and can be sensitivity as well. Furthermore, local caps might find easier to gain informants in the community which might be helpfull for crime prevention.

On the other hand, localism might be lead to corruption that today’s global issue. It seems likely that, officers from the community may in fact share some of the tendencies of the people they grew up with. Moreover, we must remember that police officers should have transferable skills, such as lateral thinking and investigative ability, which should transkend their background.

Overall, in my personal point of view, local knowledge is not absolutely essential for the police, they should have the skill which didn’t need regional understanding.