Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, advertisements use a lot of methods to illustrate their product. Some of the methods are used unfairly by containing unethical and unacceptable methods. Personally, i totally agree with this statement and will explain my point of view.

The first aspect to point out is that, people often believe in advertisements and pay attention to content. However, some advertisements may demonstrate comparison between other products of other companies. By this we mean that some advertisements may have conflicts and rivalries. This kind of provocative actions often lead to tough feuds and sometimes even more serious problems and it is clear discrimination and unethical behaviour.

Secondly, it is important to examine carefully the fact that some advertisements can promote unrealistic beauty standards and materialism. To clarify this point, some companies use heavily edited images and attractive celebrities and models to present an ideal product that is difficult or even impossible to achieve in real life. Consequently, consumers rely on this product and wait for a magic effect of the product. By this kind of methods, companies easily sell their product with extremely expensive prices. Furthermore, some advertisements encourage consumers to believe that their social status and feeling of social acceptance depend on owning expensive products, which can lead to unnecessary spendings.

Taking everything into consideration, I completely agree that some advertising methods are unethical and unacceptable in modern society. This is because certain advertisements create conflicts with competitors and mislead consumers through unrealistic expectations and beauty standards.