Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Several institutions affirm that their workers should appear in smart attire, while others argue that employees should be valued based on their performance in doing their jobs. There are several reasons why these views arise.

To begin with, those who stand with the view that people should wear proper dress to work believe that by dressing decently it means that they respect their colleague and respect themselves as well. For example, if female workers put on sexually appealing dresses as their daily outfits at the office, obviously it will distract their male coworkers. Some might say that currently we are living in a modern world where people have freedom to wear whatever they like. The backdraw is the female workers might regard themselves to be sexually harassed when their male colleagues stare at them. However, it is an undeniable fact that men will be attracted to women, particularly when they dress seductively. Therefore, wearing smart outfit might the best option to avoid undesirable situations.

Meanwhile, other companies believe that job performances should be valued more than appearance. They argue that, after all, it is employees’ productivities that contribute to the development of the company. For example, those who work at entertainment and art industries might appear at the office in a casual outfit.

To sum up, considering arguments presented on both sides who value employees based on appearance and other who defend that the performance quality should be valued more, I believe both are aqually important. Employees should dress accordingly adhering the company’s rules. However, I also believe that an employee should not be judged solely on their appearances but the quality and performance in doing their job is also matter.