Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

There are opposite views whether deadly punishment should be given to the indicted person or not. In my opinion, I strongly condemn and disagree with that notion, since it can cause a great suffer to several parties and society, which will be discussed through this essay.

To begin with, the penalty can be time savings and effective for the trial process. In fact, to indict someone with a proper penalty, the process must take up at least three weeks to two months, which can be exhaustive for the involved parties such as, the jurors, the culprit, the victim, the lawyer, and the witness. If the death sanction is embedded as a firm and solid consequences for those who committed violent crimes, they do not have to engage in a long awaited trial process to hear the final indictment of the perpetrators. Moreover, the jury can also take another case that needs to be done immediately. However, I think it is better to not automatically give the death indictments to the wrongdoers, since the given sentence must be align according to the severity of its criminal actions.

Notwithstanding with the benefits, death penalty also has several drawbacks. First, it can lead to the disorientation of public’s sentiment to the law. Sentencing the culprit to death causes people to develop fear towards the law, which contrasts with its fundamental and initial nature as a secure and protective solution to any wrongdoing. Furthermore, it is also against with the universal basic human rights to have an equal life opportunity as a human being in this world. Additionally, it potentially drive the related families or significant others to experience a consecutive bereavement period, which later can impact their mental well-being through post-traumatic events. Therefore, I do think that death penalty is not a wise option because it have a detrimental effects to society.

To conclude, although death punishment can be a time saving and effective option to sentencing the wrongdoers, I believe that penalty is not advisable since it leads to a negative effects among the community, contradict with the basic human rights to live, and potentially creates trauma for the related families.