Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion.

Nowadays, it is argued that death penalty must be used as a punishment for individuals who committed serious or violent crimes. This approach has benefits as well as drawbacks. While capital punishment may help to reinforce safety in society by getting rid of dangerous wrongdoers, it deprives offenders from an opportunity to rehabilitate and start a new life.

One major advantage of death penalty being used as a punishment for convicts is that it strengthens safety level of environment by removing offenders who pose a danger to people. Many individuals are likely to reoffend after being released, and as a result, they disrupt stability in society and threaten citizens’ lives. Capital punishment saves communities through removing people who committed violent act and are capable of doing that again. For example, serial killers can pursue their previous lifestyles even after several decades in prison.

The main drawback of using death penalty for people who committed serious crimes is that it deprives convicts from a chance to get back to normal and start from a new chapter. Rehabilitation programs in prisons often help to big numbers of offenders to cope with mental issues and return to their ordinary states in which they do not pose a threat to society members. As a consequence, ex-prisoners serve to the community as normal citizens. For instance, they may get a job after being released and contribute to the growth of local economy.

To conclude, the idea of capital punishment being used for those who committed serious crimes has both pros and cons. While death penalty can strengthen safety in society by removing dangerous wrongdoers, it also bereaves convicts from a chance to rehabilitate and get better.