Some people argue higher taxes should be collected from industries causing higher industrial pollution, whereas others argue there are better ways to deal with it. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals are of the opinion that manufacturing companies that produce more toxic wastes should pay higher taxes, while others think that there are more reasonable ways the government can manage this problem. This essays will discuss both sides of the argument and give my opinion.

On one hand, the industries that cause severe pollution should pay more levy duties because it may influence the owners to adopt the use of cleaner energy sources that will not produce much toxins. For instance, a recent survey in Russia showed that many manufacturers now use solar energy instead of gasoline to power their machines, and this is as a result of the government requesting triple the tax rates they used to pay 10 years ago. Furthermore, the government generating more revenue from taxes will ensure the availability of enough funds to repair the damages done to the environment by these companies.

On the other hand, public officials can do campaigns to educate the masses on the effects of industrial pollution and ways by which they can be reduced, such as encouraging planting of trees that absorb the dangerous emissions. For example, about 600 trees are planted in Guyana yearly in order to reduce the effects of contaminants on both the residents and the ecosystem. Additionally, the government can create laws that ensure that industries are sited far away from residents area. By so doing, the consequences of unclean manufacturing process are reduced.

In conclusion, I believe the non-incentive measures of decreasing environmental damages caused by manufacturing companies is more effective, as trees can absorb about 80% of toxic emissions. Also, building industries far away from residential areas will reduce human contact with industrial waste products, thereby protecting their health.