Some people argue that the increase in modern technology such as smart phones, tablets, and other devices have more negative impacts than benefits. I partly agree with this statement, but I believe the advantages are more significant.

Mobile phones have indeed changed the way we communicate and live. One obvious advantage is that individuals are now able to keep in touch with other people wherever they are, which is clearly beneficial in emergencies. Furthermore, AI systems in modern technology can perform tasks for people, such as booking flights and managing schedules for their daily lives , rather than just answering questions. Another advantage is that it serves as a universal tool, by providing multiple functions that make people’s lives easier. For instance, users are now able to do online banking and shopping as well as benefit from other features such as apps and cameras.

Despite these advantages, technology also has negative effects. One key reason is that the internet and modern technology enable people to avoid physical activity during their work, which causes several physical health risks, such as obesity and shoulder and neck pain. More specifically, sending documents online and doing online meetings allow employees to do their work by sitting without physical activity. Another reason is that the rise of short content on social media reduces people’s attention span during essential meetings and lessons, which can cause serious problems for their brain health . For example, a student who scrolls through videos in their leisure time may have a lower attention span. As a result, the student’s memory system may decline and may struggle to engage in long-term activities such as reading books and watching long podcasts and videos which have significant role in achieving success.

To sum up, the rapid advancement of technology has both negative and positive effects on people’s lives. I believe the advantages outweigh the disadvantages